The friendly local running club that caters for all


Wetherby 10k Report


It was a fight to the finish line in The Wetherby 10k with four runners cresting the brow of the rise at the racecourse in the final 200 metres. Rob Scott of Richmond & Zetland Harriers was the victor by just outsprinting previous Winner and Vet 40 runner Mike Burrett of Leeds City AC. Mikes time of 32 min 42 seconds would have equalled last years winner. So despite it being a blustery day Rob Scott’s time of 32 min 39 seconds had been hard won all the way around.

Third home was Scott Hinchcliffe of Penistone Footpath Runners & AC (32.44) closely followed by Callum Elson of Roundhay Runners (32.53). Any four of them could have won it from a long way out as the battle for the lead had been close for most of the 10km (6 mile) distance.

Calum got the consolation of being first Junior placing (Under20) and Reece Dalton of Ripon was second placed, finishing 5th overall in 34.07.

The ladies race proved equally engaging with Lucy Crookes of Leeds City AC smashing the course record for ladies set by Tracey Morris at the first Wetherby 10k in 2006. Lucy’s time of 35 minutes 7 seconds gave her the £100 target time bonus and beat the course record of 35 min 25 seconds by quite some margin, an event never before achieved in the races 12 year history.

Lucy, just coming back into training, was delighted particularly on a windy day and given the course has a small off road section. She was followed home by Club mate Leila Armoush in 36 min 46 seconds. Third was Sharon Barlow of Harrogate Harriers & AC. Her time of 37 min 54seconds was, for her she said ‘disappointing’ but still won her age class.

The Under 20’s female prize went to Becky Briggs of Beverley AC in a time of 38 min 7 seconds.

First Male team was a resurgent Ripon AC with Reece Dalton, Simon Cave and Joe Lofthouse taking the honours ahead of Wetherby Runners AC headed by our own Paul Millgate, Joseph Kwallah & new comer to the racing scene Nils Linstrum. Third Team was Harrogate Harriers.

The first Ladies team was Leeds City AC with Lucy Crookes, Leila Armoush and Alice Leake. Second ladies Team was Harrogate Harriers with Sharon Barlow, Charlotte Van Heist & Shamisa Sisimaya. Third team was Wetherby Runners with Stella Cross, Frederica Moore & Phoebe Coster.

It proved to be the largest field in the races history on Sunday with 1,135 runners signing up and 911 finishers to the main race. The charity chosen by Wetherby Runners for this event was Wise (Wetherby in Support of the Elderly) and Karen Leafe of the charity was on hand along with Town Mayor Norma Harrington who flagged of the main race and also the Wetherby Mini Marathon with 122 runners. First was Jamie Walker of Valley Striders covering 1.6 miles just ahead of Otley’s Jenson Brogden. He was followed in by Wetherby’s Dan Linstrum. The girls first finisher was Erin Glover of Beverley AC, followed by Holley Davey of Otley AC and in third Louisa Welton. First primary boy, 4th overall was Tom Davey who will be starting for Wetherby soon. First primary girl was Emily Holloway of Beverley AC The prestigious Gray Cup for First Local Athlete was won again by Joseph Kwallah, who despite knee injury was delighted to be even on the start line. He was delighted with the prize from Wetherby Swimming Poll and will use the three months gym membership during the winter Months. First Local lady (LS22 postcode) was a new award and was sponsored by Wetherby Bike Shack. Leigh- Anne Webster was victorious in 50 minutes 23 seconds.

The day was all about achieving personal goals and there were many who challenged themselves over the 6 miles’ route which takes runners from Wetherby racecourse out towards Kirk Deighton, around the cycle track of the A168 before returning along the Harland Way towards Walton and back to the racecourse. Tempo FM were on the scene to record and report all the action.

Organisers Wetherby Runners AC were delighted with the support this year. Not least from Race Number Sponsors the Swan And Talbot, Ford Dealers Lawton’s of Tadcaster, The Kids Clothing Shop Doodlebug and Leeds Building Society. As well as the customary large Stein mug, which all competitors receive the race had the support of ‘Subsports’ clothing Company and each finisher also received a technical T Shirt as well as goodies from the new Aldi Store and a free bottle of water courtesy of Nestle. This was together with vouchers from Wetherby Swimming pool and a race day 20% discounted fish and Chips at Wetherby Whaler. It was also thanks to Platinum Print, Wetherby St James Church, I-Store Classics and Wetherby Lions too who all help to bring a ‘Cracking Little Yorkshire Run’ to Wetherby.

Entries are already open for the 2018 event which takes place on 2nd September 2018. Entry details and further information is available at